NFL Honors: And The Winner Is….

NFL Honors

The annual NFL honors took place on Saturday evening at the Wotham Theater Center in Houston. Falcons quarterback Matt Ryan was named the leagues MVP after securing 25 votes. 

Fellow quarterback and Super Bowl LI opponent Tom Brady received 10 votes, Ezekiel Elliot, Aaron Rodgers and Derrick Carr all received 6 votes each.

On the opposite side of the ball, Raiders Khalil Mack pipped Broncos Von Miller to the defensive player of the year by just one vote. 

Los Angeles Chargers Joey Bosa scooped the defensive rookie of the year. Dak Prescott edged out fellow rookie teammate Ezekiel Elliot to the offensive rookie of the year honor. 

The Best Of The Rest:

  • AP Coach of the year: Dallas Cowboys, Jason Garrett.
  • AP Assistant Coach of the year: Atlanta Falcons, Kyle Shanahan. 
  • FedEx Air & Ground Players of the year: Atlanta Falcons, Matt Ryan; Dallas Cowboys Ezekiel Elliot.
  •  Built Ford Tough Offensive Line Of the year: Dallas Cowboys.
  • Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award: Indianapolis Colts, Frank Gore.
  • Castrol Edge Clutch Performer of the year: Oakland Raiders, Derrick Carr.
  • Salute To Service Award: Atlanta Falcons, Dan Quinn.
  • Courtyards ‘Greatness on the road’ Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Bridgestone Performance Play of the year: Tampa Bay Buccaneers receiver: Mike Evans‘s one handed grab against the Falcons.
  • AP Comeback Player of the year: Green Bay Packers, Jordy Nelson.
  • Walter Payton NFL Man of the year presented by Nationwide: Arizona Cardinals, Larry Fitzgerald and New York Giants, Eli Manning.

Featured Image By ohbaby78 Via

Mark Teece

Aspiring NFL writer currently tapping plastic square buttons on a larger plastic rectangle, resulting in this website/blog that covers the wonderful world of pigskin. Former cornerback/safety for the Crewe Railroaders (UK).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: